We aren’t supposed to say ‘all lives matter’.  If we do we are racist.  To make matters worse – I’m an old white guy with tons of privilege.  Privilege made me fat and sick.  I lost 30 pounds of privilege and  got  a lot healthier but I’m still an old, white male.   A lot of people say I’m the reason for all these racist problems.

Angelina Chapin of the Huffington Post writes; “It’s no surprise that in North America, white men are the group most vocally against efforts to create a more equitable society. They have spearheaded men’s rights groups to combat feminism. They form the base of Donald Trump’s supporters.”  I am a North American white man but I don’t combat feminism and as a Canadian Donald Trump will never have my vote.   But in this world if your guilty on one count  you’re guilty on all counts.john3 16

Exacerbating my white, male privileged position, I must also plead guilty to being a committed Christian.  To God, all lives matter; “For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life.”  (John 3:16)  The Holy Bible tells us that God doesn’t want anyone to fall through the cracks; “The Lord is not slow in keeping his promise, as some understand slowness. Instead he is patient with you, not wanting anyone to perish, but everyone to come to repentance.”  (2 Peter 3:9)  If all lives matter to God, all lives matter to me.

To further complicate my life of white privilege my faith demands that I see all people  as equal whatever their background or sex; “There is neither Jew nor Gentile, neither slave nor free, nor is there male and female, for you are all one in Christ Jesus.”  (Galatians 3:28)  Jesus makes crazy demands on guys like me; but no wonder – He wasn’t an old white man enjoying a lot of white privilege.

But without Jesus, I’d try to vote for Trump, actively make every effort to stamp out feminism as well as push other people  out of my privileged space.  Now I’m just left agreeing with what the Bible says and trying hard to love God first and my  neighbour as myself.

All lives do matter because God says so in His Word!

 

 

