Luke 21:32-34 “Assuredly, I say to you, this generation will by no means pass away till all things take place. Heaven and earth will pass away, but My words will by no means pass away. But take heed to yourselves, lest your hearts be weighed down with carousing, drunkenness, and cares of this life, and that Day come on you unexpectedly.”

     There are lots of signs today – wars, rumors of wars, earthquakes, famines and diseases cropping up all over.  Is the end near?  I think so.  Does that change the way I live my life? No.  I don’t carouse or drink.  I try hard to keep a Godly perspective on the cares of this life.  By a Godly perspective I mean not getting bound up by anxiety and worry over things that I can’t control and practicing good stewardship over the things that God has given me to control.  Do I do this perfectly? No but when I fail I repent and ask for God’s help.

     In a way the end of the world has already happened for me.  Being born again changes everything.  You see things differently; “Very truly I tell you, no one can see the kingdom of God unless they are born again.” (John 3:3)  Believing on Jesus makes fundamental changes in a person and in the world that that person lives in.  The ‘spiritual’ ceases to be a  religious ‘add on’ or quaint astrology forecast in the paper and becomes a bedrock reality; “Very truly I tell you, no one can enter the kingdom of God unless they are born of water and the Spirit. Flesh gives birth to flesh, but the Spirit gives birth to spirit.” (John 3:5,6)

     The deceptive spiritual world of astrology, animism, false religion and the magic associated with it is completely exposed by the  truth of God’s Word; “But when the Comforter is come, whom I will send unto you from the Father, even the Spirit of truth, which proceedeth from the Father, he shall testify of me . . . ” (John 15:36)  For true Christians, the Holy Spirit changes their internal and external reality completely; ” . . . if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation; old things have passed away; behold, all things have become new. ” (2 Corinthians 5:17)

     Transformation is the telling mark of the Christian; “And be not conformed to this world: but be ye transformed by the renewing of your mind, that ye may prove what is that good, and acceptable, and perfect, will of God.” (Romans 12:2)  We become like Jesus because of His Word’s work in us; “I have given them Your word; and the world has hated them because they are not of the world, just as I am not of the world. I do not pray that You should take them out of the world, but that You should keep them from the evil one. They are not of the world, just as I am not of the world.” (John 17:14-16)  The world has ended for us.

     Today a strong delusion is being spread by the carnal church that Christian’s of all denominations should unite.  Indeed a call has gone out for all people to unite in making a better world – a world that will survive and be made whole by the combined work of man  (Reuters)  This is not Scriptural and not of God; “And I saw a new heaven and a new earth: for the first heaven and the first earth were passed away; and there was no more sea. And I John saw the holy city, new Jerusalem, coming down from God out of heaven, prepared as a bride adorned for her husband.” (Revelation 21:1,2) And this is the work of God and God alone; “And God shall wipe away all tears from their eyes; and there shall be no more death, neither sorrow, nor crying, neither shall there be any more pain: for the former things are passed away. And he that sat upon the throne said, Behold, I make all things new.” (Revelation 21:4,5)

     The only true and holy unity is in Jesus Christ – the Word made flesh.  The world and it’s carnal religion will never accept this unity; “Light has come into the world, but people loved darkness instead of light because their deeds were evil.” (John 3:19)  The call for Christians to be united is a false and carnal call because true Christians are already united in His Holy Spirit; “These things I have spoken to you, so that in Me you may have peace. In the world you have tribulation, but take courage; I have overcome the world.”  (John 16:33)  The fellowship of His body, the church, is already achieved and ‘uniting’ to do false work is not God’s will.

     How quickly after Easter are we beset upon and tempted to forget His Words; “It is finished!” (John 19:30)

     Praise the Lord!

    

    

