The world is full of drifters. The online Webster’s dictionary defines a drifter as; “one that travels or moves about aimlessly.” If you were to ask a young person where are you going with your life; I don’t really know what their answer would be. When I was a young teenager I would have said; “I’m going to get a good education and a good job.” That was what I was taught and that was what worked in those days. I don’t think young people would whole heartedly agree with this kind of narrow focus today.

But when I think about it I realize that even with that sense of direction that I had in those days half a century ago I was really a drifter too. If you had pushed me beyond schooling and career plans as to what would have been my purpose you would have drawn a blank. In those days beyond school and future work my purpose was to have a good time. That extended to Friday and Saturday night – the drive in and my girlfriend. Emotionally and spiritually, I was a drifter too.

Drifting and being aimless can be said to leave a lot to chance. I don’t agree. Drifting may be aimless as far as the drifter is concerned but when you think about the environment your drifting in it isn’t aimless. You are carried where ever the current you’re in takes you. I watched a movie called ‘All is lost’ starring Robert Redford. His sail boat sank and he ended up drifting in the open ocean in his life raft. He was carried by the current into a shipping lane and possible rescue. And he was carried by the current out of the shipping lane and any hope of rescue.

Unlike many today, Robert Redford knew in the movie that his drifting wasn’t aimless. Rather it was a matter of life and death. But Redford could track his ‘drifting’ because he had a sextant – an instrument that fixes your position. He had maps with him. He had something to go by. Even though he was drifting on the current, knowing his position day by day guided his survival in the open sea.

The Bible tells us that having a standard and going by it brings a sense of direction that protects us from disaster; “Then we will no longer be infants, tossed back and forth by the waves, and blown here and there by every wind of teaching and by the cunning and craftiness of people in their deceitful scheming.” (Ephesians 4:14)

Having a standard to go by brings a sense of purpose and discipline; “Therefore I do not run like someone running aimlessly; I do not fight like a boxer beating the air. No, I strike a blow to my body and make it my slave so that after I have preached to others, I myself will not be disqualified for the prize.” (1 Corinthians 9:26,27)

And what is that standard? Jesus Christ who tells us: “I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me.” (John 14:6) Not many follow His standard, many prefer the wide easy way of wandering and aimlessness; “Enter through the narrow gate; for the gate is wide and the way is broad that leads to destruction, and there are many who enter through it. For the gate is small and the way is narrow that leads to life, and there are few who find it.” (Matthew 7:13,14)

Tired of running in circles, beating the air and repeating destructive cycles? Follow the only standard that will take you out of them – walk in His way!

