Matthew 10:24,25  “The student is not above the teacher, nor a servant above his master. It is enough for students to be like their teachers, and servants like their masters.”

     Having been a teacher for thirty years I know that students will pick up attitudes and traits of the teachers they admire.  That’s a tough thing for a teacher to think about because every honest teacher will admit that they have limitations and blind spots.  We don’t want to pass these on to our students. It’s important to hold up a higher standard in the classroom but only an arrogant teacher would want to be that standard.   That’s why honest teachers point to Jesus!  The same with preachers!

     The Bible tells us that God set up the greater covenant with His people, where He would write His standard right onto our hearts; “I will put my law in their minds and write it on their hearts. I will be their God, and they will be my people. No longer will they teach their neighbor,or say to one another, ‘Know the Lord,’ because they will all know me, . . . ” (Jeremiah 31:33,34)  There is no need for a ‘middleman’ anymore.   In the great classroom of life, God, Himself will be our teacher.

     Scripture tells us that with Jesus the need for prophets to speak for God is done; “God, who at sundry times and in divers manners spake in time past unto the fathers by the prophets, Hath in these last days spoken unto us by his Son, whom he hath appointed heir of all things . . .” (Hebrews 1:1,2)  Jesus and His Word gets first and last say in and over our lives; “How shall we escape, if we neglect so great salvation; which at the first began to be spoken by the Lord, and was confirmed unto us by them that heard him . . . ” (Hebrews 2:3)  Any teacher or preacher who points to any standard other than Jesus isn’t doing you any good!

     How will God teach us and lead us in this world?  Jesus lived among us 2000 years ago but He went back up to heaven.  So how does this teaching happen?  Jesus didn’t leave that very important question unanswered.  He told us tough times were coming; “All this I have told you so that you will not fall away. They will put you out of the synagogue; in fact, the time is coming when anyone who kills you will think they are offering a service to God.  They will do such things because they have not known the Father or me. I have told you this, so that when their time comes you will remember that I warned you about them.” (John 16:1-4)

     Jesus tells us that in these times we’ll need a teacher – the best teacher – holding up the only standard that can save us and bring us through these troubled times; “I did not tell you this from the beginning because I was with you, but now I am going to him who sent me. None of you asks me, ‘Where are you going?’ Rather, you are filled with grief because I have said these things. But very truly I tell you, it is for your good that I am going away. Unless I go away, the Advocate will not come to you; but if I go, I will send him to you.” (John 16: 5-7)  It’s part of God’s plan that we’ve got tough stuff to learn in today’s ‘classroom’ of life.

       The Holy Spirit is our teacher – the only teacher who can help us; “I have much more to say to you, more than you can now bear. But when he, the Spirit of truth, comes, he will guide you into all the truth. He will not speak on his own; he will speak only what he hears, and he will tell you what is yet to come. He will glorify me because it is from me that he will receive what he will make known to you. All that belongs to the Father is mine. That is why I said the Spirit will receive from me what he will make known to you.” (John 16:12-15)  Jesus tells us that the Holy Spirit will teach us what we need to know and learn as we are ready for it.  And the Holy Spirit is only going to teach God’s curriculum – not any worldly crap!

     Don’t you think it’s time for a student-Teacher conference?

     Praise the Lord!

