Blaming is second nature to me. If something goes wrong, I blame someone. If life isn’t going well, someone else is to blame – It can’t be me! There’s no way I might be the source of the problem. This tendency to pin the source of your troubles on someone else beside yourself goes way back.

In the Garden of Eden, after Adam and Eve’s disobedience, God had to search them out and ask them what was going on; “Who told you that you were naked? Have you eaten from the tree that I commanded you not to eat from?” (Genesis 3:11) Adam blamed Eve; “The woman you put here with me—she gave me some fruit from the tree, and I ate it.” (v. 12) And Eve blamed the serpent; “The serpent deceived me, and I ate.” (v. 13) Note also that neither Adam or Eve gave a direct answer to God’s straightforward questions.

Blaming, hiding and evasion are all work against recovery. Yesterday during a rcovery group meeting the pastor stressed the simple idea that without honesty there can be no recovery. Keeping secrets through hiding and evasion are roadblocks to recovery. Adam and Eve found themselves cast out of the Garden of Eden through a chain of poor decisions which they tried to rationalize and blame others for. We truly are their children. We do the same. God still loved and provided for them; “The Lord God made garments of skin for Adam and his wife and clothed them.” (v. 21) But they had to live out the consequences of their decisions.

Blaming, evasion and hiding are all aspects of being dishonest with others and yourself.  The Alcoholics Anonymous Big Book states; “Those who do not recover are those who cannot or will not completely give themselves to this simple program, usually men or women who are constitutionally incapable of being honest with themselves.”   For AA, there are people who are  able to be honest with others and themselves.  I disagree.  We can’t be.  No one can.  The Bible tells us; “The heart is deceitful above all things and beyond cure.  Who can understand it?”  (Jeremiah 17:9)  And “All have turned away, they have together become worthless; there is no one who does good, not even one.” (Romans 3:12)

Honesty is possible only with God’s help.  We need His Presence in our lives, maturing us, conforming us more and more to the image of His Son;  “When I was a child, I talked like a child, I thought like a child, I reasoned like a child. When I became a man, I put the ways of childhood behind me.  For now we see only a reflection as in a mirror; then we shall see face to face. Now I know in part; then I shall know fully, even as I am fully known.”  (1 Corinthians 13:11,12)  The twelve steps and one million step 4’s will never be enough by themselves for you to recover.  We must allow  His hand to work in our lives.

The Bible tells us to; “. . . continue to work out your salvation with fear and trembling,   for it is God who works in you to will and to act in order to fulfill his good purpose.”  (Philippians 2:12,13)

