Matthew 1:23 “Behold, a virgin shall be with child, and shall bring forth a son, and they shall call his name Emmanuel, which being interpreted is, God with us.”

     Jesus was conceived by the Holy Spirit and born of a virgin.  It’s that simple and for many it’s that impossible. To add to the impossibility, an angel of the Lord spoke those words to Joseph in a dream.  The angel referred to a prophecy of Isaiah spoken some seven hundred years before the event; “Therefore the Lord himself shall give you a sign; Behold, a virgin shall conceive, and bear a son, and shall call his name Immanuel.”  (Isaiah 7:14)  For many of my ‘scientific’ minded friends and acquaintances, this is impossible.  It could never have happened.  For me, it is an article of my faith. I walk in this faith every day!

     My world has become one of miracles – of healing, new life and deliverance.  Last night we celebrated New Year’s Eve with a  banquet and a church service at the drug and alcohol rehabilitation residence that my wife and I work at.  I was surrounded by men who were once dead or dying.  Slowly they were being eaten away by drugs and alcohol in the gutter or in jail.  Now they dance and shout for joy being alive again by the Power of the Holy Spirit.  If God can revive dead men by His Holy Spirit, that same Spirit could conceive a child.  There isn’t a day goes by that I don’t think about what Jesus in His love and mercy did for my son and my family. It is science that I doubt not the Power of the Holy Spirit.

     The virgin birth has been called into question not just by scientists but by clerics.  Bishop Spong argues; “Many Christians, especially those in academic centers do not believe that of Jesus’ 46 chromosomes, 23 were contributed by a non-human. If that were true it would mean that Jesus was not fully human, which is half of the Christ claim traditionally made by the Church. Virgin births are not unique to Christianity. That was the traditional way ancient societies explained their larger than life figures. No, I am quite convinced Jesus had a human mother and a human father. Please remember the Pauline claim that “God was in Christ, reconciling” was written decades before the virgin birth story entered Christian written history. A virgin birth was not part of the original Kerygma. It was added to the Christ story in the ninth decade of the Christian era.”  Has Bishop Spong not read Isaiah?  Has Bishop Spong not experienced the power of the Gospel?  My world and Bishop Spong’s are two very different worlds!

     I couldn’t care less if people think I’ve gone simple or stupid for believing what the Bible says.  I know – I live the truth of the Bible’s reality every day; not because I’m so good or ‘spiritual’.  Rather, I live the Bible’s truth because His mercy has been poured out upon me – God is Good!  My son’s testimony last night was that I was his friend.  There was a time when we didn’t speak.  There was a time when I thought he would die in a gutter in Vancouver.  Today he has a wife, a home, a university degree and a life, all by the transforming Power of the Holy Spirit.  Trying to tell me that the Bible isn’t true or that Jesus wasn’t conceived by the Holy Spirit and born of a virgin is like trying to tell me that I don’t need air to live.  Too much has happened; “For I am not ashamed of the gospel, because it is the power of God that brings salvation to everyone who believes, . . . ” (Romans 1:16)

     Praise the Lord!  

    

