Hebrews 4:2 “For we also have had the good news proclaimed to us, just as they did; but the message they heard was of no value to them, because they did not share the faith of those who obeyed.”

     Good food doesn’t do you any good unless you digest it.  It has to become part of you.  The idea that ‘you are what you eat’ makes a lot of sense.  It’s the same with spiritual food.  You are what you do.  You are what you trust.  You are what you have faith in.  And faith is following what you hear; not just saying ‘I hear you’ without following through. “But be ye doers of the word, and not hearers only, deceiving your own selves.” (James 1:22)

     The word ‘obey’ is another four letter word our self indulgent society doesn’t like.The current attitude towards obedience to anything is negative.  We obey no one because we are free; free to eat until our hearts fill with fat, free to drink ourselves senseless, and free to buy on credit until we are so far into debt that one credit card is used to pay off another.  We are free to become wage slaves to finance ‘lifestyles’ that kill.  But by all that is ‘unholy’ we will obey no one.  And we teach our children to ‘live free’ like us!

     Jesus said; “If anyone loves me, he will obey my teaching. My Father will love him, and we will come to him and make our home with him.” (John 14:23)  Notice, this isn’t just a promise of heaven to come.  Rather Jesus is promising to come to us, now and to be with us here on earth as well.  What does that mean?  That means that no matter how much trouble and difficulty life throws at you you will have peace through it.  “I have told you these things, so that in me you may have peace.  In this world you will have trouble.  But take heart! I have overcome  the world.”  (John 16:33)

     We can make faith mysterious.  We can make faith something complicated.  We can over intellectualise faith until we chase it around never taking hold of it.  Or we can see faith for what is is – trust in action.  At night we set our alarm clocks because we believe that tomorrow will come.  We have faith that the sun will rise and we will live through the night.  We act on that faith.  Our practice becomes our belief  so that which we trust in – will be so.  So it is with faith.

     Today I heard a broken young man who returned to us from the street say; “Last night I picked up my Bible and started reading it again.  I haven’t touched it for three years.  I didn’t really believe what it said.   I thought I could do what I wanted. Why should I worry about what’s right – I trusted myself and nobody else.  Look where that got me.  I got another chance to do it right.  This time I’m not trusting my own screwed up head – I’m going to trust what the Bible tells me!” This young man is restarting his journey of faith.  It is our prayer that this time, through obedience to the Word, the Gospel will nourish him and give him life!

     Jesus tells us plainly; “The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy; I have come that they may have life,<sup class="crossreference" value="(A)”> and have it to the full.” (John 10:10)

     Praise the Lord!

