John 8:58 “Very truly I tell you,” Jesus answered, “before Abraham was born, I am!”

     This statement got Jesus into a lot of trouble with the Pharisees.  They just would not accept that He was God.  Yet here Jesus was telling them that He was.  ‘I am’ was the name that God gave Moses at the burning bush; “And God said unto Moses, I AM THAT I AM: and he said, Thus shalt thou say unto the children of Israel, I AM hath sent me unto you.”  (Exodus 3:14)  The Pharisees wanted to stone Jesus for saying this but Jesus slipped away.  The truth can make people angry!

     When the eternal meets the temporal things quickly become hard to believe for those who have their hearts set on the world.  Faith is required not to suspend reason but rather to temper reason so that a person’s mind will stay open to the possibilities.  The Pharisees’ minds were shut tight because they had no faith;  “Then said the Jews unto him, Now we know that thou hast a devil. Abraham is dead, and the prophets; and thou sayest, If a man keep my saying, he shall never taste of death.”  (John 8:52)  They couldn’t grasp the eternal nature of Jesus.  God was someone far away from them and they liked it that way.

    Jesus was upsetting the status quo which favoured the Pharisees and they didn’t like it.  “If we let him thus alone, all men will believe on him: and the Romans shall come and take away both our place and nation. ”  (John 11:48)  Disbelief is heavily loaded with self-interest.  They had their Law and their rules – what we now call doctrine.  They believed in their man made rules and made their own righteousness that had nothing to do with God.   Jesus had exposed their self-serving hearts; ” . . . ye made the commandment of God of none effect by your tradition.” (Matthew 25:6) And; “This people draweth nigh unto me with their mouth, and honoureth me with their lips; but their heart is far from me.”  (Matthew 15:8)

     Jesus is God, up close and personal.   Some love Him; “If God were your Father, you would love me, because I have come to you from God. I am not here on my own, but he sent me.” (John 8:42)

     Some hate Him; “If the world hate you, ye know that it hated me before it hated you.” (John 15:18)  

     Many just don’t care that much; “And that which fell among thorns are they that, when they have heard, go forth and are choked with cares and riches and pleasures of this life, and bring no fruit to perfection.” (Luke 8:14)

     What about you?  How do you feel about ‘I am’?

     Praise the Lord!

