I wrote in my other blog “Walking with Tony” that my spiritual condition was such that I was in constant need of Jesus in my life.  You see – I am depraved!  In my other blog I described the time my son and I gave a talk about the struggles in our lives (his addiction and my self-righteous attitude towards him);  “Afterwards a man came to me and said;  ‘Great talk, until I heard you two I never realized how very depraved human beings can get!’  This took me back a bit but then I realized that he was correct in his estimation of me.  I was depraved and I am depraved; Jesus covers me daily, every day; “Blessed are they whose iniquities are forgiven, and whose sins are covered.” (Romans 4:7)  But I wondered as this gentleman walked away shaking his head, what view he had of his own spiritual condition. ”

My sister who has been my good friend all of my life will not agree; ” . . . depravity is a very strong word indeed and it is not you Tony.  It is among us for sure, but it is not you.”  You know, its nice to have a sister who believes you’re a good brother and a sister who sticks up for you.  She always has.  I love my sister and her husband is a good friend as well.  But on this point we will have to agree to disagree.  If I wasn’t depraved I wouldn’t need Jesus.

Pastor Rick Reed writes:  “Our first parents were created spiritually healthy and whole. That’s because “God created man in his own image” (Genesis 1:27).  It was paradise. But it didn’t last long. Adam and Eve disobeyed God’s  instructions, introducing sin and death into the creation (Romans 5:12). The  image of God in humanity was not erased, but it was effaced. As parents pass  along physical characteristics to their children, so our first parents passed  along a damaged spiritual DNA to all of us. We are now born with a bent towards  sin. We are inherently sinful.  I know this is not a very uplifting assessment of the human race. But it  lines up with reality. As G.K. Chesterton pointed out, the doctrine of original  sin is perhaps the Christian doctrine most easily proved. Just look around. Or  better yet, look inside.”

I’ve looked inside and saw a sick person who needs Jesus.  Now that I have found Him I would rather admit the truth about myself than give Him up.

