Psalm 139: 7- 10 Where can I go from your Spirit?  Where can I flee from your presence? 
If I go up to the heavens, you are there;  if I make my bed in the depths, you are there. 
If I rise on the wings of the dawn, if I settle on the far side of the sea,
even there your hand will guide me, your right hand will hold me fast.


     God envelops our being.  We drink His rain as it falls on the earth.  We breathe His fresh air in the spring dawn.  He touches us with  the cool breezes of summer.  He feeds us from His bounty. He warms and consoles us in the autumn sun.   His promise is written in the diamonds of the winter snow on a clear still day. When night comes, He caresses our spirit covering us from the encroaching darkness. When all else fails His light shines.  We are in Him as He is in us. Jesus promised;  “Yet a little while, and the world seeth me no more; but ye see me: because I live, ye shall live also. At that day ye shall know that I am in my Father, and ye in me, and I in you.” (John 14:19,20)


     A few years ago, someone very close to me received some very bad news.   Fear became torment as various scenarios unfolded in our thoughts about what might happen.http://seg.sharethis.com/getSegment.php?purl=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.blogger.com%2Fpost-create.g%3FblogID%3D4777752153392401254&jsref=&rnd=1324465266471  I felt powerless to provide any substantial protection or comfort.   In the face of the fear and anxiety a sense of impotence burned within me.  Later, as we spent some quiet time together questions welled up in me.  What could I say to console and comfort?  How could I be supportive?  How could I make this bearable?  Yet, I felt like I could do nothing.  Every question was a cruel barb puncturing my sense of efficacy in the face of the horrible news.  In desperation a silent prayer welled up in me.  A cry to God for His help.  I remembered that Jesus promised a comforter (John 14:15 -18);  “I will not leave you orphans; I will come to you.”  My cry was; “Jesus, we need you now.  Come and help us.  I can’t do this. We need you now!”


     As we drew close in our quiet time, I felt a sense of peace and love envelop me – envelop us.  I have never felt anything so quiet, so deep and so powerful.  Through this time, I was very still and silent myself, carried by the overwhelming warmth of this love.  We both were silent.  We both found rest.  I felt as though we were being held in the arms of His Holy Spirit.  His presence affirming the scripture; “For I am persuaded, that neither death, nor life, nor angels, nor principalities, nor powers, nor things present, nor things to come, nor height, nor depth, nor any other creature, shall be able to separate us from the love of God, which is in Christ Jesus our Lord.” (Romans 8:38,39)

       The next day as we prepared to go about our daily life we talked about what we felt during our quiet time.  Both of us had the same experience.  Both of us felt His Power, Love and Presence in our desperate time, pushing back the darkness.   Yet, as it was happening, neither of us said a word to each other about our experience.  We were carried on the wings of the same Spirit.  We experienced a level of intimacy with Him the memory of which  will stay with us always.  The Psalmist must have had a similar experience; “In my distress I called upon the LORD, and cried unto my God: he heard my voice out of his temple, and my cry came before him, even into his ears.” (Psalm 18:6)  As we made our journey through the difficult days of this trial we relied on God to get us through.  Our trust in His love and mercy grew as our intimacy with Him grew; not perfectly, often with fear and trembling as we walked forward in our hope. 

     My testimony is that God is true to His Word.  Intimacy comes when we enter into His Word; ” . . . He is able to save to the uttermost them that draw near unto God through Him, seeing He ever liveth to make intercession for them.” (Hebrews 7:25)   Intimacy comes when we stand on His promises.  Intimacy comes when we cry out to the Lord.  Jesus promised when we need Him, when our cry goes out to Him, he will come to us.  He did this for me.  He’ll do this for you.  Whatever  name your bad news calls itself as it crashes into your life remember above all else – His name has final authority over all!  Jesus said to us;  “These things I have spoken to you, so that in Me you may have peace. In the world you have tribulation, but  take courage; I have overcome the world.” (John 16:33)

     Praise the Lord!

