Revelation 3: 20  “Here I am! I stand at the door and knock. If anyone hears my voice and opens the door, I will come in and eat with them, and they with me. “

     This is one of my favourite verses in Scripture.  I like it because it portrays Jesus as a person who desires a relationship with me no matter what my current situation is and what my past has been.  A few years ago as I was giving a message in a small local church I was overtaken with a deep empathy for some people in the congregation that I knew were dealing with very difficult circumstances.  This empathy washed over me and came from the Holy Spirit.  I can’t claim the love that I felt – it didn’t come from my heart, it came through me.  I  heard myself saying – “We all face tough times in our lives, if you’re in a bad place now, if you’re doing poorly and struggling to hang on to your faith, if that’s where you are right now – then you have to know that Jesus knows where you’re living and he’s knocking at your door.  Your house may be messy and dirty – He knows that already.  Jesus wants to come in anyway because He loves you!  He will sit in the middle of the mess with you and be your friend.  He will help you clean up your life piece by piece.  So open the door!”   These words accomplished their goal – tears were quietly shed, doors were opened and Jesus bound up wounds.

     When times get really tough, we want to hide because some say bad things shouldn’t  happen to people that ‘don’t deserve them’.  There is a shame involved with misfortune.  Failure carries guilt.  Illness implies a pathology of brokenness in the body, soul and spirit.  On the mountain tops of life we shout glory to God and salutations to all our friends.  In the dark valleys of life we creep along hoping no one will notice our infirmities.  We become hermits in a cave, tasting the bitterness  of our wounds in every meal, every conversation and every hello.    We dread the knock on the door because our misfortune, our disease, our brokenness walks with us to answer the door.  We see this in the pity mirrored in our visitors eyes.  We see this in the dark circles of sleepless worry under our eyes when we look in the mirror.  Our disease and the pain of it nails us to a cross that we don’t want to be on and so torments us all the more!  We hide when we hurt bad!

     If this is you, I have good news for you!  You’re going to get a visitor.  He knows where you live.  He’s got your number so you can’t hide from Him.  He knows your mess because He’s been on your cross.  As a matter of fact He died on His cross which added up to every shame, pain and hurt we could ever feel.  And God raised Him up.  So He knows the way, He can show you because He’s been where you have been and loves you.  After Jesus came out of His desert experience He said; “The Spirit of the Lord is upon me, because he hath anointed me to preach the gospel to the poor; he hath sent me to heal the brokenhearted, to preach deliverance to the captives, and recovering of sight to the blind, to set at liberty them that are bruised, . . .” (Luke 4:18)

     Listen for that knock on your door.  Open the door and live!  Christmas is coming and He is coming for you!

