Romans 7:21 So I find this law at work: Although I want to do good, evil is right there with me.

     This is a type of law that operates in the background.  Our natural lives are influenced by a number of physical laws that operate along the same lines.  The law of gravity is one of these background laws.  Everybody experiences this law constantly.  Step on the scales and shudder!   Yet because gravity always works on us we take it for granted and don’t think about it.  Yet we are never free of its influence.

     In a world where the predominant mindset is a kind of shallow materialism, few think about spiritual laws working in their lives.  Fewer still would grant the existence of any kind of spiritual (dis)order in their lives.   However, Paul’s law of the proximity of evil and its influence on intention and action operates in the background of human life as much as the law of gravity does.   If it didn’t, then the moral progress postulated by many secular humanists would certainly have turned this planet into a paradise by now.  The world is not a paradise, what ‘force’ is working against the good that we humans are supposed to be so collectively capable of?

     Paul sums up this law working in his life by writing;  “For what I want to do I do not do, but what I hate I do. … For I have the desire to do what is good, but I cannot carry it out.  For I do not do the good I want to do, but the evil I do not want to do—this I keep on doing.” (Romans 7:15, 18,19)  In your own life have you ever asked yourself;  “Why do I keep repeating the same mistake over and over again?  I hate doing this.  It causes so much trouble!”  If you have, then you have experienced this law working in your life.

     As a physics teacher, I know that to overcome a force in one direction another greater force has to be applied in the opposite direction.  Evil must be overcome with Good.  Thankfully we have available the countermeasure to the evil that so closely stalks our intentions and actions.  Paul cries out;     “What a wretched man I am! Who will rescue me from this body of death? Thanks be to God, who delivers me through Jesus Christ our Lord!” (Romans 7:24,25)

     Denial of the laws which work behind the scenes, physically or spiritually doesn’t alter the reality of the operation of these laws and their influences on us.  If you deny gravity, you will fall.  If you deny Jesus, you will fall.

