Romans 5:6,7,8  6 You see, at just the right time, when we were still powerless, Christ died for the ungodly. 7 Very rarely will anyone die for a righteous person, though for a good person someone might possibly dare to die. 8 But God demonstrates his own love for us in this: While we were still sinners, Christ died for us.

     I knew a man once who had real difficulty believing that he was worthwhile and redeemable.  He believed that he had done something that was so ‘bad’ that he was out of anybody’s reach – even Jesus’.  He believed that Jesus, couldn’t save him because of his actions years ago.  This man was dying and he was suffering terribly from illness and his idea that he couldn’t be saved.  He was in a very bad state physically and spiritually.  How can you minister to someone suffering like this?

    We were good friends so I asked him straight out – what did he do?  We had talked a lot with one another and we had shared a lot of things about each other so it wasn’t a big reach for him to tell me.  He hadn’t done anything worse than I was capable of.  A lot of things in my past would measure up just as ‘bad’.  We talked some more and I shared my experiences with doing ‘bad’ stuff.  I was trying to let him know that he wasn’t unique in his ‘crimes’ and that we were both cut from the same cloth.  He concluded that we were both bad and we were both out of reach!  We couldn’t be saved!  I wasn’t doing very well helping my friend out of his pit!
     Now I was getting desperate enough to silently pray for help.  Romans 5:8 came to my mind – ‘He died for us while we were yet sinners.’  I said; “I’ve got some good news for you my friend”!  I shared this scripture with him.  Sure both of us were nasty characters.  Even though both of us were very sorry for what we did we didn’t deserve to be ‘let off’.  We were bad and bad guys should pay!   The good news is that God’s love can cover our sins.  Jesus knew what we were going to do.  Jesus knew what we did and Jesus went ahead anyway and died for us two nasty guys.  Who were we to throw that selfless action back into Jesus’ face!
     From the look of hope and joy in my friend’s eyes I knew that the Holy Spirit had hit the mark.  My friends pain was eased and he was assured.  Praise the Lord!

