Luke 16:13 “No servant can serve two masters.  Either he will hate the one and love the other, or he will be devoted to the one and despise the other.  You cannot serve both God and Money.”

     Jesus isn’t saying that money is bad or we should all live a life of poverty.  He is saying that divided loyalties create a tension in our heart that eventually becomes destructive.  If we serve God, we must walk as Jesus did.  This is a walk of compassion, empathy and humility.  If you’re  like me, this kind of a walking is tough; I do it with difficulty and stumble a lot.  This kind of walking makes me lose weight – especially the hard callous that always builds up around my heart. 
    
     If we serve Money, we can walk with an easy gait down a broad avenue and enjoy ourselves!  I’m drawn to this kind of strolling. Unfortunately when I’m on this kind of trip I gain lots of weight.  I swell up with pride, my middle bulges with indifference to my neighbour and my hands grab for all kinds of stuff that I want to carry with me.  When you serve Money, forget about travelling light.

     Somehow, we have lost touch with the idea that “less is more”.  Our society seems to be driven to grow, grow, grow.   We seem to feel that we aren’t successful unless we earn more, get more, do more, travel more, see more and on and on.  How much time do you have for your spouse and kids as you do more and more, as you chase after more and more?  How much joy is in this kind of ‘more and more’ when you find yourself drifting further and further away from those you love?

     In my post about ‘The Narrow Door’ I wondered if people would ask – why bother going through this narrow door – if it takes so much effort and is so difficult?  This is an honest question.  Here is a good answer.  Going through the ‘Narrow Door’  makes less of you – your ego will shrink and your heart will open up.   Less is more!

     The love of money is the root of all kinds of evil (1 Timothy 6:10).  Money love is a tool of a thief that steals your relationships, your emotinal health and even physical health and replaces these blessings with stuff – lots of empty stuff.  Jesus said; “The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy; I have come so that they [you and me] may have life, AND HAVE IT TO THE FULL.” (John 10, 10)

